Google Play hides app permission changes in automatic updates

by
Anonymous Coward
in google on (#3SF)
story imageGoogle has changed how new app permissions are applied when updating Google Play apps. Previously, automatically updated apps displayed explicit details and required user confirmation when a new version gained additional privileges. Google Play no longer displays the addition of new privileges if a user has previously accepted any other permission in the same category as the new permission. This makes it possible for an app to sneak in permission changes without the user realising making the Android platform less secure.

Does anyone really read them? (Score: 2, Interesting)

by zenbi@pipedot.org on 2014-08-10 23:20 (#2SK)

After the first couple of app installs, I kind of lost interest with the huge list of requested permissions that go with every app. Since you can't selectively toggle the individual items to deny the app access (only to deny the app install completely) the list is kind of useless anyway.

If you trust the app, you install it, otherwise you don't install it. It's not like you aren't going to install the "Facebook" app if you don't fully agree with one of the bullet items on the permission list.
Post Comment
Subject
Comment
Captcha
What is seven plus ten?