Google Play hides app permission changes in automatic updates

by
Anonymous Coward
in google on (#3SF)
story imageGoogle has changed how new app permissions are applied when updating Google Play apps. Previously, automatically updated apps displayed explicit details and required user confirmation when a new version gained additional privileges. Google Play no longer displays the addition of new privileges if a user has previously accepted any other permission in the same category as the new permission. This makes it possible for an app to sneak in permission changes without the user realising making the Android platform less secure.

Re: Does anyone really read them? (Score: 1)

by harmless@pipedot.org on 2014-08-11 01:49 (#2SP)

If you trust the app, you install it, otherwise you don't install it.
And on what do you place your trust? I.e. how do you decide if you can trust an app or not?
Post Comment
Subject
Comment
Captcha
What is the 1st digit in 6951590?