Google Play hides app permission changes in automatic updates
Google has changed how new app permissions are applied when updating Google Play apps. Previously, automatically updated apps displayed explicit details and required user confirmation when a new version gained additional privileges. Google Play no longer displays the addition of new privileges if a user has previously accepted any other permission in the same category as the new permission. This makes it possible for an app to sneak in permission changes without the user realising making the Android platform less secure.
I haven't updated the LinkedIn app on my tablet for a long time after they added a permission I didn't want installed. I don't have it installed on my phone, so just don't use it. Their loss in my view *shrugs*.