Article 6YRAF ‘Still not sure’: Shane Lowry casts doubt over two-shot penalty decision at Open

‘Still not sure’: Shane Lowry casts doubt over two-shot penalty decision at Open

by
Ewan Murray at Royal Portrush
from US news | The Guardian on (#6YRAF)
  • Irishman penalised for ball roll during practice swing

  • I didn't want to get slaughtered for being a cheat'

Shane Lowry said he was conscious of his reputation after accepting a two-stroke penalty for a rules infringement during the second round of the Open. Lowry was adamant he did not see his ball roll backwards in rough at the 12th hole during a practice swing, with officials determining he was in breach of the rules of golf.

Lowry was informed of a potential issue on the 15th before detailed discussion after he closed out on the 18th green. Lowry's 70 became a 72, leaving him 10 adrift of the tournament leader, Scottie Scheffler, with his score on the 12th changed from five to seven.

Continue reading...
External Content
Source RSS or Atom Feed
Feed Location http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/rss
Feed Title US news | The Guardian
Feed Link https://www.theguardian.com/us-news
Feed Copyright Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved. 2025
Reply 0 comments