Article 71YJR Lions seemed to have Dak Prescott sacked for safety, but a replay overruled it

Lions seemed to have Dak Prescott sacked for safety, but a replay overruled it

by
Frank Schwab
from on (#71YJR)
aa0aa6a0-d17c-11f0-b2df-0e46a05115bfDak Prescott of the Dallas Cowboys seemed to take a sack for a safety in the first quarter on Thursday night. (Photo by Mike Mulholland/Getty Images)Mike Mulholland via Getty Images

When Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott was hit and then tackled in his end zone, it seemed like a clear safety for the Detroit Lions.

The replay review official didn't see it that way.

Lions fans have had issues with officials in the past during Cowboys games, and they had another gripe on Thursday night. In the first quarter of a 3-3 game, Prescott went back to pass on third down and linebacker Jack Campbell was on top of him right away. Prescott had no choice but to duck and take the hit, which seemed to come inside the end zone.

A safety was called, and Amazon Prime Video rules analyst Terry McAulay said he believed it was a safety. It wasn't. The replay was reviewed and it was ruled that the entire football was outside of the end zone when he was hit.

This was ruled a safety for the Lions on the field but overturned to a sack after review... pic.twitter.com/oSCIKgLI1t

- Rate the Refs (@Rate_the_Refs) December 5, 2025

The safety was overturned and the Cowboys punted. Before the commercial break, McAulay said he didn't agree with the call. But after the break he did say that the angle that was used for the replay center in New York, which was right down the line, it looked like the ball was out of the end zone.

"From this angle, they did get it correct," McAulay said.

This safety call was overturned, forcing the #Cowboys to punt and no two points for the #Lions.

Was this a safety? pic.twitter.com/8G9Z4V2qSF

- BenJarmin Munguia (@JustJarmin) December 5, 2025

That explanation won't help Lions fans, who will feel their team was robbed of two points.

Lions fans got upset again in the second quarter over another officiating controversy. It looked like the Cowboys jumped offsides on a third down. Jared Goff thought so, and he threw deep thinking he had a free play. It was incomplete and no flag was thrown. Goff argued with the officials but it didn't matter. The Lions punted.

none of these defenders are in the neutral zone? pic.twitter.com/JtcTVerMph

- Warren Sharp (@SharpFootball) December 5, 2025

That didn't make Detroit fans any happier.

External Content
Source RSS or Atom Feed
Feed Location http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/rss.xml
Feed Title
Feed Link https://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/
Feed Copyright Copyright (c) 2025 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Reply 0 comments